Trust The Process

I noticed something interesting about how people create at our Messy and Grateful class where we created Gratitude Boxes. At the beginning of class we mingled around and picked out our supplies. It became evident fairly quickly that everyone had a little bit different process. Some people were more hesitant and asked questions before they began. Some people picked out a few supplies and quietly and methodically began constructing their box. Others were up and down rummaging through the supplies and creating on the fly. As I looked around the room it made perfect sense.

Strategy

painter

 

 

 

tiny businesswoman

The way we create matches our personality, and is a mirror for how we approach life.

“As we do one, so we do all.”

-Jennifer Longmore

It got me thinking about what my style of creating life looks like. I am definitely a jump all the way in before you have a chance to over think it. Assume it will all be smooth sailing, and if it isn’t then discover you have no idea what you are actually doing.

This is where I always begin to beat myself up and lose confidence. Why am I not more organized like so and so. Why didn’t I get more support before I started. This would never happen if I was more…

But now I have a new perspective. I see this is just my process. I can actually see a fun and beautiful pattern to all of my fumbling and creating and success and failure. This is me and it’s how I live and learn and create. When I look at it from this angle I am pretty darn proud of myself.

How do you do what you do? 

About lifeandfriendship

I am woman hear me ROAR! I am actively engaged in shaping my life to my dreams. Watch out 'cause I'll try my best to drag you along for the ride. View all posts by lifeandfriendship

2 responses to “Trust The Process

  • brendamarroy

    It depends on the project. Sometimes I jump right in and other times I plan. An example would be how I pre-plan my garden. I picture the rows and designate what will go in each row before I plant anything. However, when it comes to my writing, I generally just sit down, pick up my pen and let the words flow.

    • lifeandfriendship

      That is so interesting! I am wondering how you create other things… how about when you cook. Do you take out the cookbook and not start unless you have all the ingredients or do you just wing it with whatever you’ve got on hand. How about when you paint a room. Do you buy a bunch of try it cans and live with little splotches for a few weeks or do you just pick a color and start painting? I find it so fascinating.
      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

