Creating A Dream Book

I recently heard about Dream Books which are sort of similar to vision boards. Basically you break down all the different areas of your life and make separate vision board (s) for each of them. You can get even more involved with affirmations and things. The idea is to get clear about what you really do want. This seems to be a process and not a destination. It can be overwhelming to people who believe things like, “I don’t know what I want.” or “I don’t really have any dreams, passions, goals.”

This is not a road block, it is just a different way of thinking. For all of us we can start by getting clear about what doesn’t work for us. Most of us have that nailed down pretty well! Then we can start throwing out ideas of what might be good or things that have worked in the past. Then we can start brightening that vision. Really polish that sucker up until it is good any shiny.

Most of the information I found recommends looking through your dream book first thing in the morning and last thing at night. I tend to really stink at this. I just can’t be bothered with all that remembering… like taking my vitamins (Yawn). I found a website with a great explanation of why this is so often recommended. It said,

“This frequent repetition of affirmations and images will create and strengthen neural pathways in your brain (like wearing a path in the woods), making it easier for you to believe in your success and take the necessary actions to create it.”

This makes sense to me. The more I immerse myself in these images and ideas the more it starts to feel real. The more it feels real and possible the more I start to see opportunities around me to make it happen.  Voila!

I would love to hear from anybody who has made a dream book or has information about them. If nothing else it sounds like a fun craft project.

 

About lifeandfriendship

Intentionally crafting an intuitive life and friendships while managing carpool, kids, work, dinner, dog... View all posts by lifeandfriendship

6 responses to “Creating A Dream Book

  • Ericka

    I actively started working on my dream book or goal book last night and I have to say that I got completely lost in it. I started working on it around 930pm after the kids were in bed and when I looked up it was 2am. I added a few questions and answers in my book on random pages such as: “How would I change my life if I banish all doubt?” and a few other questions I found on various websites. This project is very powerful. It allows me to not only express my creativity, but also look at my dreams/goals from another angle. My goals are no longer a vision in my head, but now something that I can look at day to day. I got through the first 5 pages and I am excited to leave work so I can work on the next few pages.

    • lifeandfriendship

      Ericka,
      That is awesome! I love it.
      Keep me posted with how it comes along. I would really love to hear how you feel this ripples out in the universe and in your life.
      Like you said, if nothing else, it is a fun way to be creative. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • lifeandfriendship

      Hey Ericka,
      I am wondering how your dream book is coming. Have you been working on it? Looking through it?
      I have an idea for a dream book template that I think would make it easier for people to use as a manifesting tool. I am eager to hear other people’s results with vision boards and dream books to get ideas. Hope you are having a nice warm Spring!

  • Crowing Crone Joss

    I like this idea. I’ve done vision boards in the past. I may include this as part of my stepping into my creativity process!

Leave a Reply

