What if feeling bad isn’t the point?

I sat next to this lady I just think is such a hot ticket at my meditation class yesterday. She has such a great, fun vibe. She is one of those people you feel like you could tell your deepest secrets from the moment you meet her. She was telling me how she had planned to come to another class that had been offered the week before but had let herself be talked out of going. She was really kicking herself. She was disappointed that she hadn’t trusted herself and felt she had lost out on an opportunity to experience something new. Oh boy did I get excited. You are probably wondering what is so exciting about that, right?

“Welllll,” I said, “I have this new theory about just this kind of situation. I think your feeling badly and kicking yourself is not where you are meant to hang out. You are feeling like this because your body, spirit, the universe, whatever is trying to point something out to you. What decision or action did you take that lead you to feeling so bummed out?”

“I let myself be convinced not to come by my friend even though I knew I really wanted to” she said.

“Perfect. I think you’re just supposed to notice that you are feeling bad. Acknowledge the action or thought that lead you there, and learn from it.  It doesn’t work for you to not trust yourself. In fact it makes you feel pretty crummy. Maybe there is a piece of you that also needs to decide that you aren’t going to agree with what other people want to make them happy or avoid an argument. Once you get what the lesson is you can stop beating yourself up and start looking for the next cool class  you want to try.” I was trying hard to contain myself because this was such a slam dunk example of what I have been trying to verbalize. “That’s the idea I have been kicking around lately, at least.”

“Yeah, that sounds right. It makes a lot of sense to look at it like that.” she responded. Me personally, I think she perked right up.

I try to contain myself. I really do. Who wants to sit next to the one with all the answers right? It’s just that the more I think about energy, gratitude, forgiveness, abundance  the more it seems like I’ve been making things too complicated. Being human means most of us will repeat the same mistakes a few times before we really get the pattern.  Why shouldn’t it be as simple as noticing the signs and listening to your intuition? It’s a working theory. As always I love your feedback!

Also, I am super excited to announce that my class is starting 9/25.  The class name is Rewriting Your Life Script. It will meet for 5 Tuesdays from 7 to 8:30 pm.  Each class will be an informal lecture followed by group discussion and exercises. I can’t wait to get started.

You can register for the class here.

About lifeandfriendship

I am woman hear me ROAR! I am actively engaged in shaping my life to my dreams. Watch out 'cause I'll try my best to drag you along for the ride. View all posts by lifeandfriendship

7 responses to “What if feeling bad isn’t the point?

Leave a Reply

