Come Home Any Time

I got home yesterday after a few busy weeks most of which was spent travelling. I woke up so happy to be headed home. No matter how long I’ve been gone that feeling of going home is so soothing and even a little exciting.  I may lose the feeling  quickly when I open the door to a mess the dog made, dirty dishes left in the sink, beds left unmade, or more serious unresolved issues. I allow myself to let go of believing I am “home” because home doesn’t look like the picture in my mind.

Why is that coming home feeling so intense? I think it is because I feel I will be exactly where I am meant to be, where I can relax and be myself. I have been focusing lately on growing that feeling wherever I am. Cut off in traffic? I am exactly where I need to be. Behind someone at the grocery store who belittles their husband and the check out girl? I am with exactly who I am meant to be with. In the middle of a difficult conversation? I am exactly who I am meant to be.

I just close my eyes for a second and take a deep breath. As I exhale I tell myself that everything is just the way it is meant to be. I have gotten pretty fast at this. Sometimes I have to repeat the process more than once, but the calm and peace it brings to me is palpable. Who was it that said, “Every where you go, there you are.”  Winnie the Pooh?  He was pretty sharp for a pooh bear with a serious honey addiction.

About lifeandfriendship

Intentionally crafting an intuitive life and friendships while managing carpool, kids, work, dinner, dog... View all posts by lifeandfriendship

8 responses to “Come Home Any Time

Leave a Reply

