Why Worry?

“When I look back on all the worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which never happened.”                                                                                  -Winston Churchill

 

My daughter spent about 15 minutes last night crying hysterically about how she couldn’t take a shower because it would hurt her sunburn. When I finally snapped that she could take a shower or go to bed, she decided she would risk the pain and take a shower. Naturally she felt so much better after her shower. Refreshed and bouncy she came up to me and reported that her sunburn hadn’t hurt a bit. I bit my tongue, very unlike me, and didn’t tell her she should try not to worry about stuff that hasn’t happened yet.

I try to remind myself that whatever is going to happen, will happen whether I spend time worrying or not. I might as well try to enjoy myself until the poop hits the fan!

 

“It ain’t no use putting up your umbrella ’till it rains.”     -Alice Caldwell Rice

About lifeandfriendship

I am woman hear me ROAR! I am actively engaged in shaping my life to my dreams. Watch out 'cause I'll try my best to drag you along for the ride. View all posts by lifeandfriendship

10 responses to “Why Worry?

  • Starlite

    Reblogged this on starmillennial and commented:
    My grandmother used to tell me “Worry is like a rocking chair–it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere.” This post from lifeandfriendship.wordpress.com reminds me of this important quote!

  • Marie Alesbury

    Hey, great blog! The Law of attraction is absolutely a no brainer in my book…..sometimes when you manifest for something and it doesn’t happen the only thing that is blocking it is us….we cocoon ourselves in so much worry, fear, limiting beliefs….so tightly all wrapped up it’s no wonder the universe can’t bring it to us…..let’s all learn to open up our hearts fully and constantly with conviction, courage and TRUST!Yippety yeay…feels good just writing this…just have to put my words into heartfelt and inspired action…it’s certainly a skill to learn but gets easier the more you succeed and with every success comes moreTRUST…will stop waffling on now but very pleased that you found my blog and i found yours….www.awakentoyourheart.wordpress.com Stop by any time,sparkly blessings to you!

  • Kat Tate

    What a wonderful message to hear today. It’s a little frightening how familiar that clip-art pic looks! I’m entering an exciting new chapter this week – have quit my job and am going out on my own, before trekking through India and Nepal for a month. It’s exhilarating, but gosh how I’ve worried about it all! What if I don’t have enough money? What if I lose clients? What if I get mugged on my travels? Deeeeep breaaaaath. All will be well. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    • lifeandfriendship

      It’s so easy to hop on the crazy train and ride off into the sunset. Don’t do it! You’re trip will be great and your clients will love you even more because of the confidence and perspective you will bring.

  • Michael Rains

    Reblogged this on Endless Delirium and commented:
    I had to reblog this because I feel that its something we can all learn from. Thank you lifeandfriendship.

  • Blue Heron Wisdom

    So true! For those of us who believe in the Law of Attraction, I’ve also heard the saying that worrying is setting an intention for what you DON’T want! Would it help us to stop worrying if we knew that by worrying we are actually drawing to us the experience we don’t want? I try to remember this when I am tempted to worry too much.

Leave a Reply

